Adult Programs

These activities are recommended for ages 18 and up.  Some programs require registration, either by e-mail or through our website.  All programs are free.  Looking for a past virtual program or program handout?  See our past virtual programs page.

APL @ Home

Participate in these programs from the comfort of your living room.  

image of a person's hand beginning to write on a blank page on a table surrounded by palm leaves

Summer Writing Competition
Monday, June 6 - Friday, July 29

Two books stacked.  The top book is open.  Twinkling lights in the background.

Adult LitBox
Monday, Aug 22 - Saturday, Aug 27

Registration opens Saturday, Aug 6

APL In-Person

For ages 18+.  Space is limited.  Free tickets will be available 30 minutes before the start of the program.  If you need special accommodations to attend a library event, please call 214.509.4905 or 214.509.4913. 

Ruins of an old Scottish castle in Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Armchair Travelers Visit Scotland
Tuesday, July 12, 7 p.m.

Colorful yarn and knitting in a basket.

Twisted Threads
Wednesday, July 13, 7 p.m.

close-up of oil pastels on a colorful page.

Arts @ APL: Oil Pastels
Tuesday, July 19, 10:30 a.m.

A woman reading a book on the beach.

Shared Shelf Book Club
Tuesday, July 19, 7 p.m.
Wednesday, July 20, 12 p.m.

Registration opens July 1

A close up of writing in calligraphy form.

Arts @ APL
Introduction to Calligraphy

Thursday, July 21, 7 p.m.

Hands pulling paper up from a marbling tray.

Arts @ APL
Suminagashi Paper Marbling

Tuesday, July 26, 10:30 a.m.

Brightly colored yarn being woven in a circular pattern on a circle loom.

Arts @ APL
Embroidery Hoop Weaving Loom

Saturday, August 6, 3 p.m.

painting of dog on canvas under an attached photograph of the same dog

Paint Your Pet's Portrait
Wednesday, August 10, 10:30 a.m.

close up of multicolored yarn in rolls

Twisted Threads
Wednesday, August 10, 7 p.m.